## 15A NCAC 10D .0106 DESIGNATED BEAR MANAGEMENT AREAS

- (a) Bear may be taken on posted designated bear management areas specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule during the open season by permit only. Individuals may apply for permits on or after July 1 online at newildlife.org, by phone, or in person at a wildlife service agent location. The number of permits issued annually will be based on achieving population management objectives of the Commission. The Commission shall issue available bear management area permits to applicants selected at random by computer. Permits shall be non-transferrable. All applicable laws and rules regarding the taking of bear shall apply.
- (b) The following shall be posted designated bear management areas:

Bachelor Bay designated bear management area – Bertie and Washington counties

Columbus County designated bear management area – Brunswick and Columbus counties

Croatan designated bear management area – Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties

Daniel Boone designated bear management area – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties

Dare designated bear management area – Dare and Hyde counties

Fires Creek designated bear management area – Clay County

Flat Top designated bear management area – Mitchell and Yancey counties

Green Swamp designated bear management area – Brunswick County

Gull Rock designated bear management area – Hyde County

Harmon Den designated bear management area – Haywood County

Juniper Creek designated bear management area – Brunswick and Columbus counties

Mt. Mitchell designated bear management area – McDowell and Yancey counties

North River designated bear management area – Camden and Currituck counties

Panthertown - Bonas Defeat designated bear management area - Jackson County

Pisgah designated bear management area - Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania

Pungo River designated bear management area – Hyde County

Rich Mountain designated bear management area – Madison County

Sherwood designated bear management area – Haywood County

Suggs Mill Pond designated bear management area – Bladen and Cumberland counties

Standing Indian designated bear management area – Macon County

Thurmond Chatham designated bear management area - Allegheny and Wilkes counties

Wayah designated bear management area – Macon County

(c) It shall be lawful to take bear on the following designated management areas when authorized by permit issued by the Commission in accordance with G.S. 113-264(d):

Daniel Boone designated bear management area – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties

Dare designated bear management area – Dare and Hyde counties

Mt. Mitchell designated bear management area – McDowell and Yancey counties

Panthertown – Bonas Defeat designated bear management area – Jackson County

Pisgah designated bear management area - Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania

Standing Indian designated bear management area – Macon County

- (d) Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on designated bear management areas.
- (e) Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on designated bear management areas located in and west of the counties and parts of counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-305;

Eff. August 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 15, 2023.